Ain’t No Garbage….We’re in This FOREVER!!!


My dad sent this story in an email a few weeks ago…I have a special folder on Outlook for his “stuff.”  He sends links to all sorts of articles, stories, cartoons, etc.  I get to them….eventually!!  This is the exact story I needed for today.

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport. We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us. My taxi driver slammed on his brakes, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches! The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us. My taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, he was really friendly.

So I asked, ‘Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!’

This is when my taxi driver taught me what I now call, ‘The Law of the Garbage Truck.’ He explained that many people are like garbage trucks. They run around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of disappointment. As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes they’ll dump it on you. Don’t take it personally.Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on. Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets. The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day.

A few weeks ago, someone asked if Mary and I were doing okay.  Confused and bewildered I asked why the query.  Someone had told them we were on the outs…  And of course, they noticed my car was never in the drive anymore and they hadn’t seen Mary and I together for anything lately.  Add to this, I haven’t been to Church in the last forever.

There was only one thing to do…I told them the truth.  Mary and I had separated about 6 months ago after I had an affair with another woman and refused to give up my mistress.  They actually believed it…Funny!!!  But not so funny because I got a call from the Pastor within about 15 minutes asking for a meeting.  He laughed when I explained everything…and that the other “woman” was not named “Emisse”…but rather I had been working my tail off at EMS!!!

For those still not in the know… Mary and I had  about 10 minutes to talk before our ceremony.  I asked if she was sure…I told her it wasn’t too late,  and I would understand if she wanted out!!!  Mary frogged my arm, grabbed my hand, and walked me down the aisle.  I know it is because we started out committed for eternity that our marriage had endured thus far….(that and NO ONE ever went on a 2nd date with me!!  Yup…she’s a keeper!)…  Mary is stuck with me FOREVER!!!!!

Don’t get me wrong, we still have our disagreements and struggles at times…and there have been times where a divorce would have been LOTS easier than dealing with our issues.  When we actually take time to renew our love and friendship focusing on WHY we got married initially that things go better.  t is from these times that we become MORE united.  We are able to hash through and work out our differences.  (Yes people..Mary and i are VERY different..well, in a few things!)  We do not have to agree on everything.  I still prefer to talk to the boy and understand what is going on…her not so much!!!

And somehow, that’s ok…because the small differences are what make her endearing…and I kind of like watching DIY…and Mary even tolerates Monty Python, Star Wars, and the history Channel somewhat…especially since I have turned the boy to the dark side!!!

Leave a Reply

