The Long and Whiney Road


It has been quite some time since my lost blog.  So much has been going on…  At one point my company was short 14 people which means LOTS of overtime. I have been working 24-24, 36-36, or some other variation to the tune of 160- 180 hours every 2 weeks.  And y’all, that seriously took so much out of me.  I tried to keep family first.  I tried to DO things…but all I did was keep afloat.  I felt drained.  The only good thing was that we made a boatload of money…

I am a horribly natural man.  I read as a youth:

” the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be,  forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit,  and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord and becometh a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his Father.”  (Mosiah 3:19)

I have read that verse a thousand times..but I never fully understood it.  What is this natural man?  I was and still am at times so let me expound.

The natural man wants to play. When other need service…not for him.  When tithes are due to the Lord…not for him.  When the diaper needs changed…not for him.  The natural man loves to play.  More toys.  More clothes.  MORE EVERYTHING!!!  If there is something new or better, he is the first in line. (Actually, he is probably sitting in his drawers at his mansion making his servants go get it for him.) It is kind of like being like Veruca on Willy Wonka.  (I still blame her…who wouldn’t want a trained squirrel or a goose that lays on command- dpending on which version you watch.) In essence, the natural man puts himself and his needs before all else…including God!!!  Don’t get me wrong, there are times when that is a little more okay; however, as a lifestyle…not so much. Believe me..I tried it for a little while

Y’all know the story…started Paramedic class, work…blah, blah, blah!!!

Several months ago, Mary and I decided to be more spiritual-minded (I know…me and spiritual are not usually in the same sentence.) It began with a little more prayer..a little more scripture study. Then we added some good old paying tithes to the Lord. I even quit cursing as much (I said AS much..I still have my moments…)

And despite my hard-heartedness and fighting it, things changed… Home got better…Work got better… LIFE got better.

What is even worse, Mary and I became more unified against the world!!! We realized that NO ONE, No THING, NO FORCE can conquer us when we play nice with each other…

Don’t get me wrong, the journey to this state has taken lots of time and lots of faith..and lots of trials and tests.. But on a scale of 1-10..I am glad we are here now..and I would HIGHLY recommend the change!!!

Comments
One Response to “The Long and Whiney Road”
  1. Jennifer says:

    I enjoyed reading this post…thanks for sharing. Hope you and your family have a blessed holiday season!

    Like

Leave a Reply

