Excite-omnia..and sleeping through a Storm


A young man applied for a job as a farmhand. When the farmer asked for his qualifications, he said, “I can sleep when the wind blows.” This puzzled the farmer. But he liked the young man, and hired him. A few days later, the farmer and his wife were awakened in the night by a violent storm.

They quickly began to check things out to see if all was secure. They found that the shutters of the farmhouse had been securely fastened. A good supply of logs had been set next to the fireplace. The young man slept soundly. The farmer and his wife then inspected their property. They found that the farm tools had been placed in the storage shed, safe from the elements. The tractor had been moved into the garage. The barn was properly locked. Even the animals were calm. All was well.

The farmer then understood the meaning of the young man’s words, “I can sleep when the wind blows.” Because the farmhand did his work loyally and faithfully when the skies were clear, he was prepared for the storm when it broke. So when the wind blew, he was not afraid. He could sleep in peace. (from http://101anecdotes.com/work/sleep-when-the-wind-blows/)

sleep ballI  have no trouble going to sleep at night. However, I have had a horrible time sleeping THROUGH the night over the past week. I am suffering from “excite-omnia.” What is this ailment? Exciteomnia is a form of insomnia stemming from pure excitement. I usually suffer from this the first day of each semester as well as the night before camp, which means only 1 night of sleeping trouble. However, the current episode is about one week old now.

You see, I am moving away from EVERYONE I know.  We are going into a VERY strange world where you actually have to order Dr Pepper instead of the waitress knowing you want it when you order a “coke.”  We are going to a new time zone…so I am not sure if we will be an hour, day, week, or year ahead of Texas folks.  So m,any unknowns.  Those unknowns freak me out and may be the root cause of my exciteomnia.

I can control somethings, which should help allay my exciteomnia.  I have spent the last week making sure water, power, gas, trash, sewer, and cable will be turned on to our new place. I am not worried about insurance coverage because policy changes were made on Thursday. I know where the closest hospital, bank, and grocery store are to our house.   I know the nearest and safest bike routes for exercise and riding to school. We got our Church records changed to the new Ward in Indy and have help lined up to load and unload our UHaul. Basically, I have spent many hours getting all my stuff in order. I have all my ducks in a row…and should be able to sleep tonight.

But I know the only known cure for my exciteomnia will  be an almost 1000 mile move to Indianapolis…which we will begin tomorrow. So goodbye Texas…and hello to a crazy new world.

Leave a Reply

