Why I hate riding my bike…


I’ve spent many hours riding my bicycle over the past 3 years with over 2500 miles in East Texas and another 350 miles in around Indianapolis since July. I have ridden on the most pleasant days with mild breezes and awesome temperatures.  I have also ridden in fog, rain, sleet, hail, and snow.  I “enjoyed” riding when it was over 105*…and on days when it was in the low-teens.  I have ridden in winds over 45 mph.  I once even finished a 5 mile course ride after having fallen off a ten foot high bridge (which ended with a huge divot in my leg to this day, but that is another story for another day). Through all the riding, though, one simple facts remains true.  I HATE riding!!!

Wait… how can a person crazy enough to be out in all sorts of weather HATE riding????   It takes lots of effort getting gussied up in all sorts of gear to keep dry in the rain, warm in the cold, or cool in the heat.  Sometimes I get lost in the idea of riding and lose sight of the riding.  That’s right, there is a distinct difference between the riding and the idea of riding.

The idea is a chore the tedious things that make the ride tolerable. For each hour riding, I spend about an hour at home oiling/maintaining the chain, cleaning the frame, adjusting brakes and derailleurs, and washing my riding gear. The list goes on and on of all sorts of fun stuff.  I even spend some time stretching my legs.  By themselves, these elements are quite useless and related to the ride.  Until the time I forget to do those steps…. i might have low tire pressure or a dirty chain, which makes for a long ride because these things increase drag and increase the effort I exert to ride the same number of miles.

Hmmm….maybe there is something going on here. It is the little things that take the most time, but are the most beneficial on the ride.  Kind of like life…and all the church answers (you know, go to church, pray, etc). What it gets down to is that I have done the simple “ideas” that make the ride easier. Crazy how that works.  So, next time I complain about how hard the ride is, I’d better hush it and go oil my chain!

Leave a Reply

