Two months in Indy…


We have been in Indianapolis for 2 months now.  We know all our neighbors, and in true Southern fashion, taken them all some sort of dessert treats.  We have a great Church family.  We are slowly teaching these folks how to speak correctly. The don’t know about old Cooter Brown, how to do the Cotton Eyed Joe correctly, or how to stop at red lights, so we have our work cut out.  Each day is a new adventure.  Each day I find something new to love about this place.

Last week, I got an email out of the blue asking about teaching a class. Since the semester began 4 weeks ago, I assumed it was for Spring.  I got the position teaching Fundamentals of Speech.  Only catch…I had 3 days to create a syllabus, assignments, and get prepared for my first solo teaching assignment.  I have taught for a week now…it has been a blast.

The good news is I haven’t called one of fellow students a “poopie head” during class…yet!  The faculty members are challenging expect me to become a better scholar. I have quit doubting myself as a scholar (usually), but I know I have so much more to learn.  I still think about doing a sock puppet lesson to freak out the academic folks.  Maybe that is a little too far…

The best part about everything is that I am me.  No more pretending…no more lies to myself.  I still have self-esteem issues that go back to my tuba tooting days, but I almost like who I am and where I am going.  And on the days where I don’t like me…I jump on my bike and pound it out!!!

Can’t wait to see what the next two months bring….

Leave a comment